MU Gains Four Wins Against Trine

ANGOLA, IND. – Freshman 133-pounder Kalib Jackson (Rome City, Ind.) continued his recent hot streak Tuesday, Feb. 12, leading Manchester University in a hard-fought 28-16 loss to in-state rival Trine University.

Jackson, picking up his fifth win his last eight matches, posted an impressive major decision win and shutout over the Thunder’s Nick Ader 8-0 to get MU (1-13) on the board. Senior Chuck Holmquest (Plymouth, Ind.), wrestling up a weight at 165, won by decision, while freshman Bryce Roberts (Rochester, Ind.) was a winner by forfeit and junior heavyweight Jason Pedigo (Zionsville, Ind.) added a decision.

MU just missed wins at two other weights as well. Freshman 141-pounder Josh Juarez (South Bend, Ind.) held a 3-1 lead through two periods before a five-point move to open the final frame sent him to a 6-3 defeat. Sophomore 197-pounder Ray Wajda (North Judson, Ind.) was involved in a low-scoring 3-0 battle.

Coach Matt Burlingame’s team continues a busy week by competing in the Mid-States Conference Championships Saturday, Feb. 16. Action begins at 9 a.m. inside Art Smith Arena on Alma College of Michigan’s campus.

NOTES: Jackson moved to 15-12 on the season, while Holmquest improved to 13-20. They remain one-two on the Black and Gold’s wins’ ladder. … Pedigo snapped a five-match skid with his seventh victory of the year.

Trine 28, Manchester 16

157 Elias Larson (Trine University) won by pin over Johnny Tullos (Manchester) 0:53.    
165 Chuck Holmquest (Manchester) won by decision over Trevon Jordan (Trine University) 7-3.    
174 Bryce Grames (Trine University) won by forfeit    
184 Ryan Pieper (Trine University) won by major decision over Jacob Segraves (Manchester) 21-8.    
197 Mackenzie Green (Trine University) won by decision over Ray Wajda (Manchester) 3-0.    
285 Jason Pedigo (Manchester) won in overtime over Shane Hendrickson (Trine University) 3-1.    
125 Brandon Preston (Trine University) won by forfeit    
133 Kalib Jackson (Manchester) won by major decision over Nicholas Ader (Trine University) 8-0.    
141 Joshua Blanton (Trine University) won by decision over Josh Juarez (Manchester) 6-3.    
149 Bryce Roberts (Manchester) won by forfeit

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *