Northfield Girls Basketball Awards

The Northfield Girls’ Basketball award program was held on Monday, February 25 in the NHS auditorium.

7th graders receiving certificates were Michelle Hunt, Kylie Mitchell, Katy Pefley, Ellie Schuler, Indi Shear, Maddie Snyder and Kenzie Thornsbury.  The team was 5-10 and was coached by Kristin Unger.

8th graders receiving certificates were Hannah Bartoo, Jordan Bratch, Jordan Keaffaber, Ashlie Koch, Jacklyn Peas, Courtney Stapleton, Kandra Stout, Alexis Taylor and Olivia Tayler.  The team was 6-9 and was coached by Tim Woodward.

Receiving their JV certificates were Jensen Zumbaugh, Maddy Dale, Sarah Driscoll and Abby Keaffaber.  The team finished 10-7 and was coached by Tom Hayes.

Earning varsity chevrons were Hannah Cole, Sydney Eltzroth, Kylie Echard, Sidney Reed, Katie Stephen, Arie Kennedy, Cherish Leming, Marlee Stefanatos and Payton Thomson.  Payton Thomson also earned her award jacket, Letter ‘N’ and numerals was Payton Thomson.

Sydney Eltzroth and Sidney Reed earned 1st Team TRC All-Conference honors.  Kylie Echard earned honorable mention honors.  Kylie Echard and Sydney Eltzroth earned All-Country 1st team honors. Sidney Reed earned 2nd team honors.  Echard, Eltzroth and Reed all made the All-Country Tournament team.

Earning All-TRC Academic honors was Kylie Echard and Katie Stephan.  Earning honorable mention honors was Hannah Cole, Sydney Eltzroth and Sidney Reed.

Sydney Eltzroth and Sidney Reed all made the Northfield Invitational All-Tournament Team.

Individual award winners were Sydney Eltzroth (Most Valuable Player), Hanna Cole (Mental Attitude Award) and Maddy Dale (Most Improved Player).  Captain stars were earned by Sydney Eltzroth, Sidney Reed and Katie Stephan.

The team finished 16-6 and won the Northfield Invitational and Wabash County Tournament.  The Lady Norse were coached by Courtney Cervenka.  She was assisted by Tom Hayes, Mark Cervenka, Erin Poole and Ashley Frehse.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *