Cromer Cited As IBCA/Subway Player of the Week

Four cited as IBCA/Subway Players of the Week

Columbus North, Wabash, Princeton and Roncalli standouts claim first awards of 2014-15


Three players who opened their seasons with 40-point games and a fourth who averaged 32.5 points over two games have been selected as the initial winners of the IBCA/Subway Player of the Week program for 2014-15.

Columbus North senior Ali Patberg, Wabash senior Claire Cromer, Princeton junior Jackie Young and Roncalli junior Lindsey Corsaro are the Week 1 recipients (for games played Nov. 10-15) in the player recognition program overseen by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

Cromer was chosen as the winner for District 1, Corsaro was selected in District 2, and Patberg and Young garnered co-recipient laurels in District 3.

Patberg, a 5-10 guard who has signed to attend Notre Dame, scored a school-record 44 points while grabbing 11 rebounds and adding five assists and four steals as Columbus North opened its season with a 75-40 victory at Martinsville. Patberg also moved into first place on her school’s all-time scoring list and now has 1,319 career points. She made 15-of-24 shots and 14-of-18 free throws against the Artesians.

The 5-3 Cromer averaged 38.0 points over two games to earn accolades. She opened with 42 points, three rebounds and four steals in a 60-44 win over Mississinewa. Cromer followed with 34 points, three rebounds and two steals in a 62-55 triumph over Marion. Over two games, Cromer made 20-of-35 field goals, 12-of-20 3-pointers and 24-of-26 free throws.

Young, another Notre Dame recruit, tallied 40 points, 22 rebounds and five assists as Princeton defeated Southridge 60-46 in its opener. The 6-0 standout followed with 22 points, nine rebounds and six assists as the Tigers rolled past Evansville Bosse 72-28 later in the week. Young also became her school’s all-time scoring leader in the first game and finished the week with 1,349 points.

The 6-1 Corsaro averaged 32.5 points over two games as Roncalli defeated Carmel 97-75 but lost to Pike 66-63. A University of Kentucky recruit, Corsaro amassed 34 points, 17 rebounds and three assists as the Rebels beat the Greyhounds. Corsaro totaled 31 points, eight rebounds and four assists in the setback to the Red Devils.

This is the seventh season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program and the third season it is presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana, a banner sponsor of the IBCA. Subway, in its fifth season as an IBCA sponsor, encourages athletes to “train hard and eat fresh.”

Player of the Week winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA’s three districts. Girls winners will be chosen from now through the week following March 7. Boys winners will be chosen starting in two weeks and through the week following March 28.


Other nominees for Week 1 (2014-15)

        District 1 — Leigha Brown, DeKalb; Jordyn Frantz, NorthWood; Emma Gaff, Hamilton; Tiajaney Hawkins, East Chicago Central; Ashlinn Jorgensen, Lake Station; Kendall Knapke, Heritage; Nicole Konieczny, LaPorte; Kelly Miller, Northridge; Shae Rhonehouse, Fremont; Kaitlyn Shafer, Portage; Tashayla Sutorius, Fort Wayne Wayne; Cailin Trezak, Hobart; Loren Vukovits, John Glenn; Jordan Wadding, Chesterton.

        District 2 — Avery Chezem, Covington; Kara Gerka, Fishers; Kenigia Hamilton, Anderson; Shae Harper, Attucks; Tyasha Harris, Heritage Christian; Sydney Huffman, Franklin Central; Kambrey Jolley, Wapahani; Katy Johnson, Yorktown; Katie Key, Frankton; Maya Meredith, Cathedral; Laurhen Pickett, Twin Lakes; Brooke Saylor, Eastbrook; Jayla Scaife, Muncie Central; Alexis Shannon, Noblesville; Kristen Spolyar, Lebanon; Aliyah Walker, Brownsburg; Brittany Welch, Sheridan; Courtney Wise, Union City.

        District 3 — Alyx Abbott, Pike Central; Alexa Bailey, Bedford N. Lawrence; Hannah Cosby, Gibson Southern; Olivia Crozier, Madison; Candace Danz, Indian Creek; Alex Davidson, Salem; Eve Galbraith, Switzerland County; Annie Gillard, Bloomington South; Emily Hollis, Henryville; Holly Hoopingarner, Greenwood; Sierra Hudson, Shakamak; Cheyenne Jones, Washington; Madison Kaiser, Floyd Central; Allie McCool, East Central; Alexis Nall, Mt. Vernon (Posey); Brittany Parker, Perry Central; Mikayla Rowan, Northview; Zuri Sanders, Evansville Central; Alexis Tackett, Shelbyville; Hannah Wolford, Providence.


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *