Trio headlines all-HCAC honors

NORTH MANCHESTER, IND. – Four men and 12 women represented Manchester University on the recently-announced 2017 all-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference outdoor track and field squads.

Director of Cross Country and Track and Field Brian Cashdollar’s men’s squad, which placed fifth at the HCACs, had two-time individual champion Alex Gudeman (Rochester, Ind.), single event winner Blake Harris (Fort Wayne, Ind.); freshman jumps specialist Austin Roberts (Indianapolis, Ind.); and senior Nic Haskins (Monticello, Ind.) honored. Gudeman, a distance standout, won the 3000-meter steeplechase and 5000-meter race events to pick up his second career all-league recognition, while Harris was the 10,000-meter victor in route to a first team award. Roberts took third in the long jump to earn his honorable mention status, while Haskins was the squad’s Sportsmanship team selection.

For the women, who shared the team championship with Hanover College to run their league title streak to three, senior distance runner Mariah Jordan (Fort Wayne, Ind.), a three-time all-HCAC first team pick, was tabbed Co-Athlete of the Year along with Transylvania University’s Jordin Fender. Jordan swept the 5000 and 10,000, took second in the 1500 and was on the roster for the third-place 4×400 team. Hannah Wappes (Columbia City, Ind.), who swept the 1500 and 800 meter championships, was named Freshman of the Year and was a first team selection. Cashdollar also picked up a special award gaining Coach of the Year accolades for the third successive season and fifth time in his career.

Joining Jordan and Wappes for first team accolades was senior thrower Shay Aator (West Lafayette, Ind.) who gained her fourth all-loop selection by winning the hammer throw for a similar number of times. A quartet of athletes was named to the second team in junior thrower Kara Brueckman (Crown Point, Ind.) (runner-up in hammer throw); junior thrower Jacey Cauhorn (Kendallville, Ind.) (runner-up in discus); sophomore sprinter Dasia Beck (Indianapolis, Ind.) (runner-up in 100-meter dash); and senior distance runner Tiffany Harber (Columbia City, Ind.) (runner-up in 5000 and 10,000). Beck, Cauhorn and Harber each picked up their second all-conference honors. Honorable mention recognition was given to sophomore distance runner Samina Qureshi (Columbia City, Ind.) (third in 3000 steeplechase); sophomore sprinter Annie Jondle (Elkhart, Ind.) (third in 4×100 meter relay); junior sprinter Olivia Jenks (Elkhart, Ind.) (third in 4×100 meter relay); sophomore sprinter Jade Bollett (Auburn, Ind.) (third in 4×400 meter relay); and freshman sprinter Emma DeWitt (Brookston, Ind.) (third in 4×100 meter relay). The team’s Sportsmanship selection was junior Paige Keller (Greenville, Ohio).

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *