Wappes award spotlights all-conference accolades

NORTH MANCHESTER, IND. – Manchester University was well-represented on the 2018 all-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference indoor track and field teams, released Wednesday, Feb. 21.

Coach Brian Cashdollar’s team, behind a fourth-place finish at Anderson University’s Kardatzke Wellness Center Feb. 17, captured the Track Athlete of the Year accolade. Sophomore standout Hannah Wappes (Columbia City, Ind.) won two individual events at the indoor championships, winning the 800-meter run in a new conference record time of 2:18.97 and claiming the mile run title in a time of 5:25.78. Adding to a weekend in which she captured her second and third conference indoor titles, she was also a member of the Spartans fourth-place 4×400 meter relay team.

Joining Wappes for honors was senior thrower Jacey Cauhorn (Kendallville, Ind.) who won the shot put in route to first-team accolades; junior sprinter Dasia Beck (Indianapolis, Ind.) was tabbed second team due to a second-place mark in the 60 meters; fellow senior thrower Whitney White (Portage, Ind.) gained an honorable mention selection after taking third in the shot; and junior Samina Qureshi (Columbia City, Ind.) was the squad’s Sportsmanship honoree.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *