Hit enter after type your search item
Wabash County Sports

Often copied, never equaled sports coverage

Wednesday At Manchester U


Spartans Defeat St. Francis (Ind.), Win Fourth Straight
FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The Manchester University Spartans won their fourth consecutive game today after defeating the St. Francis (Ind.) Cougars by a final score of 10-7 at the World Baseball Academy in Fort Wayne.

Manchester scored in double figures for the eighth time this season and the third time in its last four games. The Spartans also tallied 13 hits in Wednesday’s win.

Manchester got out to an early 4-0 lead after two and a half innings of play. Nick Rush (Terre Haute, Ind. / Terre Haute North) opened the scoring in the top of first with an RBI double down the right-field line. Matt Pritz (LaPorte, Ind. / LaPorte) added an RBI single in the first. Max Bridgewater (Indianapolis, Ind. / Roncalli) hit his first career home run in the top of the second inning to give Manchester a 3-0 lead. Collin Bice (Waterloo, Ind. / DeKalb) rounded out the initial offense surge by Manchester with an RBI single to left.

The Cougars rallied to take the lead in the bottom of the third with five runs.

After both teams traded leads over the next few innings, Manchester took the lead for good following a two-run single by Nick Rush in the top of the eighth. The Spartans added two more insurance runs in the top of the ninth.

Manchester won its fourth straight game to improve to 12-21 on the season. St. Francis dropped to 13-37 on the year. Manchester will host Transylvania University on Saturday April 27 in an HCAC doubleheader that will begin at Noon. Manchester will also honor its senior class as a part of Senior Day.

Cooper, Yon Named to Hampshire Honor Society
IRVING, Texas – The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the members of the 2019 NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers. Manchester’s Jacob Cooper (Fairland, Ind. / Triton Central) and Zane Yon (Greencastle, Ind. / South Putnam) were named to the honor society this year.

An all-time high 1,643 players from a record 424 schools qualified for membership in the society’s 13th year. The record topped last year’s number of 1,251 players honored in the history of the program, which began in 2007.
Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

Being a starter or a significant contributor in one’s last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;
Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
Meeting all NCAA/NAIA mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar
Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :